Poster winners honored at SWCD dinner

The Ray County Soil and Water Conservation District held its annual dinner at the Richmond Shrine Club March 22 at 6:30 p.m.  There were a total of 193 in attendance.
Jon Dana, chairman of the board of supervisors, started the meeting by introducing the Soil and Water Board Members and Staff, as well as NRCS, DNR, RD, FSA and Rep. Joe Don McGaugh.
Boy Scout Troop 324 led the Pledge of Allegiance. Jon Dana said the prayer. David Owen fried fish, and the Richmond 2014 booster club prepared and served the remainder of the meal.
Dana reviewed the cost share status of fiscal years 2012 and 2013, as well as the drought assistance program that was offered in the summer of 2012.  Entertainment was provided by magician Terry Elton.  Entertainment sponsors were: Orrick Farm Service, Macey Excavating LLC, David Minnick Farms, Duane Burk and Sons Seeding, Inc., Blaine Nolker Construction LLC, Community Bank of Missouri, Vandiver Farms, Inc., Letzig Group, Inc, The Bank of Orrick, and Consumer Oil and Supply.
Agencies that partnered with the Soil and Water District by setting up display booths with handouts were the Farm Service Agency, Rural Development, NRCS and the Department of Natural Resources.
This year’s poster contest stewardship theme was “Where Does Your Water Shed?”  Hardin, Orrick and Richmond fourth and fifth grade students watched a Power Point presentation and were given examples of what the judges would be looking for when the posters were judged.
Poster contest winners received a certificate, ribbon, McDonald’s coupon, Shell Ice Cream Cone and Sonic treats. Hardin-Central fourth and fifth grade winners were:  Gracelyn Gibson, Trevor Gibson, Matthew Smith, J T Brown, and Brooke Gordon. Orrick fourth and fifth grade winners were:  Jacob Derrickson, Kyle Turner and Mary Cordes Richmond fourth and fifth grade winners were:  Allie Miller, Derek Lane Curtis, Hannah Norris, Addie Galle, Abby Vandiver and Stephen Woolfolk.
The Soil and Conservation District offered special thanks to all of the  businesses that gave a door prize and/or made a financial contribution toward the annual dinner:  Richmond McDonald’s, Sonic, KFC Taco Bell, Walmart, Super 8, Shell, Linda’s Floral, Central MO Community Credit Union, Pizza Hut, Horseplay Feed and Tack, Apple Market, Mike Wright Auto Repair, Hometown Pizza, Bobby Hall- Pioneer Seed Rep., Bargain Town, Calvert’s Tire and Body, Bank Of Orrick, Thunderbird Wholesale Electric, Prinsco, Ray Carroll Fuels LLC, Blankenship Service, State Bank, Letzig Group, Inc., Lawson Agri Service, Macey Excavating LLC, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Larry’s True Value & Appliance, Swafford Ford, Consumer’s Oil and Supply, MFA Agri Service Norborne, Hardin Mini-Mart, Shirkey Golf Course, Richmond Farm and Lawn, Tequila Jalisco, Derry Wright/Letzig Seed, Aflac, Ray Carroll County Grain Growers, Anytime Fitness, The Armory, K.C. Bobcat, Bartlett Grain Company.
Also, The Jones Store, Blaine Nolker Construciton, Jimmy Dykes Excavating, Casey’s General Store, Jamie’s Therapeutic Massage, Community Bank of Missouri, Ingersoll Rand, Concordia Implement, Haute Dog, Craftsmen Tools, Gary Sneed Farms, Crown Power Equipment, G&G Excavating, Dorton Customs, Fubblers Cove, Duane Burk and Sons Seeding.
Also contributing were Elm’s Hotel and Spa, Kings Garden, Foley Rental Equipment, Kleinschmidts Western Store, Sur-Gro, K & W Custom, Snap-On Tools, Mac Tools, Skil Power Tools, Machine and Supply, Renfro Veterinary, Midwest Customs, Orrick Farm Service, Proto Tools, Tan-Tar-A Resort, Pointers Jewelry, Tractor Supply, Powell Gardens, and Weather Guard.

Click here for our E-edition and read the rest of the story.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login