Field set for county, state elections

Candidate filings for county and state office ended 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Only one county race will have competition for the Aug. 7 primary. Incumbent Western County Commissioner Mike Twyman of Orrick will face Dale Ginnings of Excelsior Springs for the Democrat slot. Gary Wilhite of Excelsior Springs is the Republican challenger.

Ray County Sheriff Sam Clemens is retiring after his term ends this year. Undersheriff Garry Bush is the Democrat candidate for sheriff. He faces Republican Steven Chrisco of Excelsior Springs. The county’s coroner position is open and two candidates have filed. Bart Willim, an undertaker for Thurman Funeral Home, is the Democrat candidate with Republican Toby Polley, owner of Polley Funeral Home as his challenger.

Eastern County Commissioner Allen Dale of Richmond is running unopposed as is Public Administrator Kenneth Nolker and County Surveyor Tom Sisco, all Democrats.

Rep. Bob Nance has reached his term limit as state house representative. Ray County moves from the 36th District to the 39th District in 2013 because of reapportionment, joining Carroll and Chariton counties. The race will be contested by Democrat Will Talbert of rural Lawson and Republican Joe Don McGaugh of Carrollton.

Sen. Bill Stouffer, R-Napton, has also reached his term limit for state senate. He is running as a candidate for Secretary of State. Ray County stays in the 21st District and is joined by Johnson County. Candidates for the 21st include Democrat ElGene Ver Dught of Higginsville, Republicans David Pearce of Warrensburg and Mike McGhee of Odessa and Libertarian Steven Hedrick of Warrensburg. Pearce is the current state senator for the 31st District that serves Johnson, Cass, Vernon and Bates counties.

– JoEllen Black/Richmond News

Click here for our E-edition and read the rest of the story.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login