Checkered flags, few rain drops fly at CMS

Week No. 12 of the 2009 race season at Warrensburg’s own Central Missouri Speedway has come and gone with another weather-threatened weekend of action-packed racing. There were 92 cars signed in to compete on the high-banked CMS clay oval in the Modified, Late Model, B-Modified, and Street Stock divisions.
Fans in the stands enjoyed a total of 18 events during the evening’s program, which once again was threatened by Mother Nature as a light shower tried to prevent the racing action. Once the brief hot-lap showers receded, racing was fast and furious throughout the night for all divisions.    
After last week’s big-money special, the ‘Mighty’ Modified drivers resumed their battle for the point’s championship and the weekly $1,000-to-win.  Thirty-three drivers raced in four heat races, a B-main event and a 20-lap feature. For the opening heat, Aaron Poe claimed his first win of the year and pole for the feature event, ahead of Orrick’s Aaron Marrant.  Dave Meyer claimed his third heat win in the second heat and Jason Thompson took his sixth heat win of the year in the third heat.  The fourth and final heat went to Jamie Ragland. Donnie Dannar took the win in the B-main.
Aaron Poe and Dave Meyer started on the pole for the 20-lap night-cap event. From the get-go Meyer led the 24-car field for lap one with Poe coming back to lead lap two as the two continued to wage a hard-fought battle up front.
By the midway point of the race Meyer was still in control trying to hold off a strong-running Jason Thompson, until he shredded a tire heading into turn one just as Thompson was going for the lead. After the restart, Thompson held the point with now second-running Lyle putting pressure on the new leader. The man on the move late in the race was Dean Wille, who started 22nd and found himself securely in the top five with a handful of laps remaining. Lyle pressured the leader a few times but Thompson hung on for his second win this season, becoming only the second driver to have repeat wins this year.  Lyle ran strong in second position with Jamie Ragland coming home third.
ULMA late models once again had a full field of cars and three exciting heat races along with a feature event as 19 cars were on hand. Randy Ainsworth raced his way to his first heat victory of 2009, while in heat No. 2, ‘Flyin’ Mike Ryun made his return to late model racing a good one with a victory over track point leader Jon Binning. There were several attempts at a start to the feature event as several cars experienced mechanical issues. The late models had a rough start to their 15-lap feature, but once the green flag flew drivers went straight through the race from green flag to checkered flag. Shawn Rayfield held strong up front with Randy Ainsworth and Mike Ryun close behind during the main event. As the laps wound down, it was clear that Rayfield had the car to beat as he cruised to his first-ever CMS win in his first appearance at the track. Mike Ryun ran strong in second with Test in third. Clancy held strong for fourth position as Ainsworth came home fifth. Jon Binning finished fifth.  
B-Modified drivers were also coming off of their big-money race weekend competing once again for weekly track points with 28 drivers on hand. Jeremy Lile of Higginsville, raced to his fourth heat-race victory of the year in heat race No. 1.  For heat No. 2, Chris Brockway of Warrensburg picked up his fifth heat win and Bryan Montgomery earned his fourth heat win of the year.
Brad Smith, who encountered problems in his heat race, claimed the victory in the B-main to determine the final few cars to start at the tail of the main event.
Heat winners Jeremy Lile and Chris Brockway led the field to the green for the 15-lap main event. Late in the race and coming around to complete lap 11, Brad Smith spun and had to leave the race after being involved in his second yellow flag incident. Several other cars experienced trouble and exited the race. With just four laps remaining Brockway held the lead and at the checkers, he took his second feature win of the year over Ethan Isaacs, Mark Evinger, Jeremy Lile, Chad Staus, and Dalton Kirk.
Street Stock competitors continued their hard charge toward the championship with two qualifying heat races and a feature event with 12 cars registered for competition. Heat winners were Michael Mullins who claimed his third heat victory of the year while Clayton Cambell picked up his first heat win in the final heat.
For the 15-lap feature Michael Mullins led the opening laps and continued to feel pressure from Eickleberry, who was celebrating his 40th birthday. Mullins held off Eickleberry, Clayton Cambell and Brian Johnson late in the race. Then, on lap 13, Eickleberry’s car puffed a huge ball of smoke and he had to leave the race with a DNF.  Upon the final restart, Mullins held back a hard-charging Johnson for his first-ever Street Stock feature win. Behind the lead duo, Cambell finished in third, Bennett fourth, Jerry Schmidt fifth and John Ebert sixth. 
Saturday is Pepsi Race Night at the speedway and once again all four weekly race divisions will compete for their places in victory lane.  Grandstands admission begins at 5 p.m., followed by the Driver’s Meeting at 6:30, Hot Laps at 7, and Racing at 7:30. For additional results and general track information be sure to visit the Web site at

Click here for our E-edition and read the rest of the story.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login