Meyer grabs win No. 32 at CMS

Hot summer weather has finally set in, and it came just in time to catch up with the already sizzling action at Earl and Susan Walls’ Central Missouri Speedway. After last weekend’s first special event of the season, 90 drivers returned to regular competition for week six of the championship season.
There were 37 ‘Mighty’ Modifieds, 13 ULMA Late Models, 14 Street Stocks, and 26 B-Modifieds on hand for a total of 17 races held throughout the night.
B-Modifieds racers once again came out in full force for three exciting heat races, one B-main, and a feature event. Bryan Montgomery took the checkers in heat race number one, and in heat race No. 2, Jeremy Lile drove to his first heat win of the year over Ethan Isaacs and Jacob Ebert. In the third and final heat, Bobby Raybourn led the charge ahead of Lucas Isaacs and Mark Evinger. The final starting position for the feature event were determined by the finish of the B-main, in which Michael King of Orrick drove to the win over Chris Brockway and Stephen Doogs of Sedalia.
Heat race winners Bryan Montgomery and Jeremy Lile started on row one for the 15-lap feature event with Montgomery taking the early lead until a caution flag flew at the start of lap two and again on lap four. By lap 11, Ethan Isaacs fought his way to the front of the field and took over the top spot. With a green, white, and checkered flag finish looming, Montgomery fought hard to regain the lead on the white flag lap but just could not muster enough to make the pass back around Ethan Isaacs. Isaacs went on to claim his first-ever B-modified main event at CMS. Raybourn capped off a strong run in the second position followed by Lucas Isaacs, brother of the winner in third.
Street Stock racing came next with drivers competing in two qualifying heat races. For the opening race, Brian Johnson drove to his fourth heat win over Nic Bennett and John Ebert. Chad Eickleberry took the checkered flag in heat race number two in front of Michael Mullins and Clayton Campbell.
Johnson and Eickleberry earned the top starting spots for the main event with Johnson setting the pace ahead of the rest of the field. “To finish first, first you must finish” is a popular saying in the racing world and this sentiment rang true in the opening laps of the main event. Michael Mullins now securely owned second position, with Bennett still looming, as 14-time street stock champion John Brooks methodically picked up positions throughout the remaining laps. With just a couple of laps remaining, Johnson held onto the lead as Brooks made it all the way to his back bumper at the finish with Johnson edging Brooks for his second feature win of the year. Brooks moved from ninth to second as Mullins finished third.
ULMA Late Models again provided an action-packed night of racing with two heat races to sort out the lineup for the main event. The first heat race featured Bob Test in a dominating win over Randy Ainsworth, and Steve Clancy. For heat race No. 2, Danny Lorton grabbed the early lead and never looked back, with Robbie Test and Kevin Coyne running second and third at the line. Heat race winners Test and Lorton led the 13-car field to the stripe for the initial green flag.
The fiercest action on the track was for second with Randy Ainsworth, Robbie Test, Steve Clancy, Kevin Coyne, and David Barker all running strong. As the race drew to a close, Ainsworth continued his best ever run near the front of the field in second place. In the end, Test drove to victory lane for his first-ever win at the speedway over Ainsworth in second. Test’s son, Robbie, finished in third position.
The ‘Mighty’ Modifieds closed out the evening with their hotly contested 20-lap main event, but not before four heat races and a B-main event were needed to sort things out for the feature race lineup. In heat No. 1, James McMillin of Warrensburg drove to victory over Orrick’s Aaron Marrant and Tyler Schmidt of Easton, Kan. The second heat race featured Luke Feeback taking the win and Dave Meyer brought home the win in heat three over Jim Moody of Odessa. For heat No. 4, Concordia driver Jason Thompson was able to hold on for his third heat win of the year. Four more drivers raced their way into the main event in the B-main with Tim Karrick, leading the way over Chad Staus, Jimmy Dowell, and Austin Siebert.
The 24-car field was set to race 20 laps for the weekly $1,000 prize and it proved to be one for the memory books. There were numerous battles throughout the field and some very impressive runs to the front by racers who started near the tail of the field.
McMillin led the field for several laps initially after the initial start and restart of the race. Unfortunately, he spun coming off of turn four while leading and his strong run came to an end. Justin Boney continued his charge to the front and took over third by lap 12. A mechanical flag waved for Schmidt ended his strong run on lap 14, with Jamie Ragland experiencing troubles two laps later, as the field slowed for another caution period. Boney grabbed the lead shortly after the restart, but all cars did not cross the line to complete the lap and Meyer went back to the front for the restart. Another quick caution flew with just a few laps left as Meyer did everything he could to keep Boney and Thompson behind him. On the white-flag lap, the lead trio raced nose-to-tail and at times side-by-side coming to the stripe in one of the most exciting feature race finishes ever at the track. At the conclusion of the race, Meyer picked up his 32nd win at the speedway under the CMS banner as Boney and Thompson came across the line door panel to door panel for second and third with Marrant holding on for fourth spot.
Next Saturday, the CMS championship season rolls on as all competing classes hit the track with the Modifieds, Late Models, Street Stocks, and B-Modifieds. Hot Laps start at 7 p.m. with racing at 7:30.

Click here for our E-edition and read the rest of the story.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login