Ash selected first-team for Spartans

Although the Richmond Spartans finished third in the MRVC East baseball race, they were able to land just one player on the first-team in the all-conference voting by league coaches.
Senior third baseman Kyle Ash was the lone Spartan representative on the first team, but two other Spartans were named second team, while three others received honorable mention.
League champion Holden, along with Higginsville and Carrollton each landed two players on the first team. Lexington, the runner-up, landed a league-high three players on the first team.
Ash led the Spartans in hitting with a .453 average and also led the team in total bases with 45, and slugging with 1.196. He drove in a team-high 16 runs to go along with 8 doubles and 20 runs scored. Junior pitcher Branden Evans and sophomore first baseman Colby Bowles were named second team.
Evans set the single season RHS strikeout record as he fanned 86 batters this season for an average of 11.36 per game while pitching 53 innings with an ERA of 4.36. Bowles hit .377 for the Spartans with 13 RBIs, and tied Ash in home runs with 2. He drew 14 walks and was second on the team in On Base Percentage with .515, and slugging with 1.081.
Freshman shortstop Kyle Carroll was one of three Spartans named honorable mention. Carroll hit .326, and led the Spartans in On Base Percentage with .540 while leading in walks with 19.
Junior catcher Corey Adkison drove in 13 runs for the Spartans while hitting .368. Josh Isgriggs, a junior, patrolled centerfield and also went 3-1 on the mound.
Richmond had four players selected to the all-academic team. Bowles and Carroll were tabbed, along with sophomores Reny Ries and Caleb Benhardt.
The MRVC East first-team all-conference (seniors unless noted): Matt Ritchie-junior, Colin Stephenson-junior and Joe McLaughlin, Lexington; AJ Langston and David Lerda, Holden; Jayson Mayden-junior and Zach Davis-junior, Carrollton; Brady Tieman and Lance Kays-junior, Higginsville; Ash, Richmond.
Second-team: Ivan Pyszka-junior, Knob Noster; Phoenix Harrison and Bryce Harrison-junior, Lexington; Bowles and Evans, Richmond; Zak Anstine and James Hood-junior, Holden; Cody Renzelman-junior and Spencer Flick-junior, Carrollton; Chance Alberswerth, Higginsville.
Honorable mention: Carroll, Adkison and Isgriggs, Richmond; Ross Flick-junior and Garrett Kleoppel-junior, Carrollton; Bryce Evans and Jimmy Bryant-sophomore, Holden; Justin McCarroll and Josh Kaullen-sophomore, Lexington; and Alan Jungnitsch, Knob Noster.

Click here for our E-edition and read the rest of the story.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login