Spring banquet closes out sports year at RHS

Richmond High School honored its fall sports athletes Friday night at the school commons during its annual dessert banquet. Also honored were the Academic team, and the presentation of the 3-sport and 4-sport letter winners for the 2008-09 school year.
Each athlete was presented either a certificate of participation, or a letter from his or her coaches, and special team awards were also handed out.
Bob Lauck recognized members of this year’s very successful Academic team. Team members were: Cortny Cooper, Janine Decker, Jing Jin, Tiffany Jones, Alex Luntsford, Erica McFarland, Brady Roberds, Alan Roberts, Anthony Rowan, Henry Smith, Stephen Smith, Craig Strickler, Adrian Tackett, Kirstie Thompson, Holly Wollard and Ethan Wyse.
Spartan tennis coach Ken Simmons handed out letters to his team. Award winners for the season were Most Improved to Nick Harmon and Gus Hockemeier. The Outstanding Player Award was presented to Phillip Corwin.
Spartan golf coach Murray Dennis handed out his special award winners and letter winners. Blaine Broderick was named Most Valuable Golfer, and he was also recognized for sporting an undefeated season match record of 10-0-1. The Spartan Award was given to Brandon Rittmiller and to Lucas Farabee.
Coach Brandon Quick presented letter winners and special award winners for the 2009 Spartan baseball team. Most Valuable Player was Kyle Ash, who was also named the Offensive Player of the Year. Zach McGill was tabbed as the Spartan Award winner. Other baseball awards were given to Kyle Carroll as Defensive Player of the Year; Josh Isgriggs and Branden Evans shared the Pitcher of the Year Award.
Coach Bruce Scovill presented special awards to members of the Lady Spartan track team. Award winners were: Savanna Nobile, Best in Jumps/Vaults; Adrian Tackett, Best in Throws; Kaylie Root, Most Points Earned in Sprints; Deanna Barger, Most Points Earned in Distance; Hannah Alpers, Spartan Award.
Special award winners for coach Dennis Harper’s Spartan track team were: D’Andre Williams, Most Points in Jumps and Sprints; Cody Gorham, Most Points in Distance; Jake Halterman, Most Points in Throws; and the Spartan Award winner was Dean Thompson.
The Richmond All-Sports Club recognized the 3-Sport letter winners for the past school year: Hannah Alpers, Kyle Ash, Colby Bowles, Blaine Broderick, LaToya Johnson, Preston Maples, Whitney Martens, Haley Padgett, Reny Reis, Jordan Smith, Kane Southwick, Ty Tweedie and Jake Vandiver.
The 4-Sport letter winners were Hannah Alpers and Whitney Martens.

Click here for our E-edition and read the rest of the story.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login