Four from RHS nab league honors

Richmond, Knob Noster and Higginsville dominated the MRVC East basketball race this winter as all three tied for the league championship. All three teams also dominated the all-conference voting as they claim eight of the top 10 spots in the balloting by the league coaches.
Knob Noster, which had its season ended in the Class 3 quarterfinals Saturday by Lee’s Summit Community Christian, landed two first-team players and added one more to the second team, while Richmond had one first-team player and two more on the second team, with Higginsville getting a first-team and a second-team selection.
On the girls’ side, conference champion Holden placed one player on the first team, while Knob Noster, the runner-up, took up two spots on the first team. The Lady Spartans had one player named honorable mention.
Junior guard Blaine Broderick was the lone Spartan named first-team all-conference. Broderick averaged 10.5 points a game and also set a new school record with nine 3-point buckets in a game.
Two seniors, Jon Vance and Jacob Swope were named second-team. Vance averaged just under 13 points and 7 rebounds a game for Richmond this season, with Swope scoring just over 11 points a game, and hitting 45 percent outside the 3-point arc.
Vance also hit 55 percent of his field goals and averaged at least one steal and one blocked shot a game. Swope hit 68 3-point buckets and just missed the school season mark by two. Broderick ended the season knocking down 61 shots from outside the arc.
Members of the first-team are: Cullen Rosine, Knob Noster, senior; Brady Tieman, Higginsville, senior; Brian Hughes, junior, Knob Noster; Trevor Yancey, senior, Holden; and Broderick.
Second team: Vance, DeShaun Thirkield, freshman, Higginsville; Bryce Evans, senior, Holden; Swope; and Ivan Pyszka, junior, Knob Noster.
Honorable mention went to Jason Mayden, junior, and Andrew Molloy, senior, Carrollton; Lance Kays, junior, Higginsville; Brad Watring, senior, Lexington; and Ryan Chabotte, junior, Knob Noster.
The Spartans had five players named to the all-academic team. Broderick was selected to the squad, along with sophomores Ty Tweedie, Robert Brewer and Caleb Benhardt, and freshman Kyle Carroll.
The Knob Noster Lady Panthers put Christina Jones and Sarah Tyler on the first-team, which was composed of all seniors. Also selected to the first-team were Valerie Lambert of Holden, Rachel Thoeni of Carrollton and Higginsville’s Emily Nolte.
Selected to the second team were sophomore Kelsey Carver of Holden; Nicki Oberg, senior, Higginsville; Kim Smith, senior, Lexington; Kyra Williams, sophomore, Knob Noster; and Stacey Calhoun of Holden.
Richmond sophomore Kayla Hewitt was named honorable mention, along with Anne Summerlin, a Lexington senior.

Click here for our E-edition and read the rest of the story.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login