Eight Spartans receive conference honors

The Richmond Spartans landed a pair of first-team players on the first all-conference squad for the MRVC East. Senior linebacker Kyle Ash and junior defensive back Arthur Bivines were selected to the first-team defense and were two of eight Richmond players recognized in voting by the league coaches.
Ash, who led the Spartans in tackles with 78.5, and also had a pair of sacks for the season, was also named honorable mention offensive lineman.
Bivines had a pair of interceptions and 8 pass defenses while recording 43.5 tackles this season, and was also honorable mention at running back where he rushed for 524 yards.
The Spartans had two players selected to the second-team defense. Sophomore Colby Bowles was named at linebacker where he recorded 78.5 tackles to go along with 3 quarterback sacks, a forced fumble, 5 pass defenses and a pair of interceptions. Senior Aaren Mathes was named to the defensive line where he ended the season with 42 tackles, 3.5 sacks, a pair of forced fumbles and 3 fumble recoveries.
Junior Jamal Robinson was named honorable mention defensive lineman and Jordan Smith, a senior, was honorable mention defensive back. Robinson recorded 33.5 tackles this season, while Smith was also in on 33.5 stops with a pair of interceptions and 4 pass defenses.
Senior Jon Vance was the lone Spartan on the second-team offense. Vance was named at tight end where he caught 20 passes for 328 yards and 4 touchdowns. In addition to Bivines and Ash, Skylar Wright, a senior, was named honorable mention offensive lineman.
The Spartans also had eight players named to the all-academic squad. Wright was the lone senior named while Fritz Kellerman was the lone junior recognized for the Spartans.
The remaining six players were all sophomores – Bowles, Justin Ware, Ty Tweedie, Kane Southwick, Reny Reis and Payton Fields. Higginsville had a league-high 12 players named to the academic squad with Lexington and Knob Noster landing 9 each.
League champion Holden and runner-up Carrollton dominated the first-team offense with four selections each. The Eagles also had four first-team defensive players, with Carrollton landing three.
MRVC East first-team offense (seniors unless noted): Quarterback: Andrew Malloy, Carrollton. Running backs: Dennis Hutchings and David Lerda, Holden. Linemen: Ryan Flick and Josh Conner, Carrollton; Clayton Hill and Denny Holsey, Holden; and Chance Alberswerth, Higginsville. Wide receiver: Cullen Rosine, Knob Noster. End: Brian Hughes, jr., Knob Noster. Tight end: Kevin Loges, Higginsville. Kicker: Blake Coyazo, Carrollton.
Second-team: Quarterback: Ivan Pyszka, jr., Knob Noster. Running backs: Darrell Brooks, Lexington; Ross Flick, jr., Carrollton. Linemen: Kevin Kephart and Jacob Rieman, sophomores, Holden; Collin Stephenson, jr., and Jodi Hambrick, Lexington; Drew Smith, Knob Noster; Madison Bennett, jr., Higginsville. Wide receiver: Cameron Zuehlsdorf, jr., Higginsville. End: Spencer Flick, jr., Carrollton. Tight end: Vance, Richmond.
Honorable mention: Aaron Ferguson, Holden (QB); Bryce Harrison, jr., Lexington and Bivines, jr., Richmond (RB); Daniel Blair, Knob Noster, Ash and Wright, Richmond (OL); Cody Renzelman, jr., Carrollton (WR); Crosby Coleman, Holden (TE).
MRVC East first-team defense: Defensive line: Alberswerth, Higginsville; Jacob Mercer, Carrollton; Brian Hughes, Knob Noster; and Deron Binkley, Holden. Linebacker: Zac Davis, jr., Carrollton; Hutchings and Lerda, Holden; and Ash, Richmond. Defensive backs: Zak Anstine, Higginsville; Spencer Flick, Jr. Carrollton; Bivines, jr., Richmond; and Brian Cass, Knob Noster. Punter: Lance Kays, jr., Higginsville.
Second-team: Linemen: David Carter, soph., Holden; Ethan Hooser, Lexington; Mathes, Richmond; Josh Conner, Carrollton. Linebackers: Jacob Reinman, soph., Holden; Bowles, soph., Richmond; Loges, Higginsville; and Stephenson, jr., Lexington. Defensive backs: Renzelman, jr., Carrollton; Alan Jungnitsch, Knob Noster; DeShawn Thirkield, fresh., and Zuehlsdorf, jr., Higginsville.
Honorable mention: Kephart, soph. and Robinson, jr., Richmond (linemen); Hambrick and Brooks, Lexington; and Jed Bultman, soph., Carrollton (LB); Bo Maze, Lexington; Flick, jr., Carrollton, Rosine, Knob Noster and Smith, Richmond (DB).

Click here for our E-edition and read the rest of the story.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login